About

New! – FBI Cyber Series

The Friedman Brain Institute’s “FBI Cyber Series” is a new weekly virtual faculty seminar series highlighting the outstanding brain research by Mount Sinai’s elite scientists. The seminars take place on Thursday afternoons from 1- 2 pm and are made available by Zoom.

Speakers

Post-traumatic neurodegeneration: clinical manifestations and underlying pathology

Kristen Dams-O’Connor, Ph.D

Thursday, November 19th at 1 pm

JOIN via Zoom

Modulation of Proteinopathy and Neurogenesis by Metabotropic Antagonists

Sam Gandy, MD, PhD

Thursday, December 10, 2020 1-2pm

JOIN via Zoom

Neuroimaging in human drug addiction: an eye towards intervention developmentPsychedelic-assisted

Rita Z. Goldstein, PhD

Thursday, November 12, 2020 1-2pm

JOIN via Zoom

Generating New Neurons and Protecting Old Neurons in Vision Restoration

Bo Chen, PhD

Thursday, October 29, 2020 1-2pm

JOIN via Zoom

 

Construction, flexibility and susceptibility of adaptable circuits

Deanna Benson, PhD

Thursday, October 22, 2020 1-2pm

JOIN via Zoom

Psychedelic-assisted Psychotherapy for PTSD

Rachel Yehuda, Ph.D

Thursday, September 24, 2020 1-2pm

JOIN via Zoom

 

In Search of a Depression Switch: Implications for Next Generation Strategies to Optimize Therapeutic DBS

Helen S Mayberg, MD

Thursday, June 25, 2020  1-2pm

Spatial Genome Organization in the Brain

Schahram Akbarian, MD, PhD

Thursday, June 18, 2020  1-2pm

 

Visualizing the brain at 7T

Priti Balchandani, PhD

Thursday, June 11, 2020  1-2pm

 

Gene discovery and precision medication in autism spectrum disorder

Joseph D. Buxbaum, PhD

Thursday, June 4, 2020  1-2pm

 

Neuro-epidemiology in action: Depression and mortality in epilepsy findings that are changing clinical practice


Nathalie Jette, MD

Thursday, May 28, 2020  1-2pm

Big Data and Genetic Liability to Neuropsychiatric Disease

Panagiotis Roussos, MD, MS, PhD

Thursday, May 21, 2020  1-2pm

 

A journey with a potassium channel:
From structures to a new modulator for treating epilepsy

Paul A. Slesinger, PhD

Thursday, May 14, 2020  1-2pm

 

Why bullies attack: insight into neural circuits
controlling aggression reward

Scott J. Russo, PhD

Thursday, May 7, 2020  1-2pm

 

Translating Cannabis: Neurobiological Insights
to its Risk and Therapeutic Potential

Yasmin L. Hurd, PhD

Thursday, April 30, 2020  1-2pm

 

Negative feedback control of neuronal activity by microglia

Anne Schaefer, MD, PhD

Thursday, April 23, 2020  1-2pm

 

Autophagy: A Selective Eater that Protects Brain

Zhenyu Yue, PhD

Thursday, April 16, 2020  1-2pm

 

Human genetics implicates microglial function in Alzheimer’s disease risk

Alison M Goate, DPhil

Thursday, April 9, 2020  1-2pm

Nicotine addiction: Unexpected cells, circuits, and sicknesses

Paul J Kenny, PhD

Thursday, April 2, 2020  1-2pm

 

Transcriptional and Epigenetic Mechanisms of Addiction

Eric J Nestler, MD, PhD

Thursday, March 26, 2020  1-2pm

 

Recordings

Friedman Brain Institute

The Friedman Brain Institute at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai is one of the world’s premier institutions dedicated to advancing our understanding of brain and spinal cord disorders, and driving innovative approaches to new treatments and diagnostic tests through translational research. We are committed to the best in education, research, and clinical care.

Learn More